Town Council Mayor

The Mayor of the Town Council is elected by fellow councillors at the Annual General Meeting, which is always held in May. There are no legislative restrictions about the number of times a councillor can become the Mayor (or Chairman of the Council).

At the Annual General Meeting on 18th May 2017, the Town Council elected Cllr N Joseph as the Mayor for 2017/18. Councillor Joseph is a Labour Councillor and represents the Stockbridge Ward . Councillor Joseph will remain in office until the Annual General Meeting (scheduled for 17 May 2018).

Upon taking office, Councillor Joseph said:

“I would like to show my appreciation to Cllr Ely for his outstand effort during his time as Mayor of the Council for 2016/17”.

“Cllr Ely has been elected to serve as Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2017/18