Knowsley Village Hall is a splendid building situated in a Conservation Area. The building was erected in 1896/97 and funded by Frederick Arthur Stanley, 16th Earl of Derby. The Hall was constructed as a venue for meetings, technical classes and social events. There was even the provision of a small library. The total cost of construction was in excess of £4,000.
The Village Hall is leased from Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council (KMBC). The lease is for 25 years and concludes in 2019. Responsibility to manage the building was taken on by the former Parish Council when KMBC found that the building’s running costs were prohibitive and there was a serious danger that the facility would be closed.
The building is constructed in mellow red brick with red sandstone dressings. The roof is in slate. It has two storeys and is influenced in design by both Romanesque and Tudor-Revival architecture. The Village Hall is considered one of the most iconic buildings in the entire Borough and its setting next to the Village Green is most appropriate.
In addition to the main hall (which can accommodate 150 people), with stage and balcony, the building contains a number of activity rooms and the Council Chamber. The Town Council has undertaken a refurbishment programme at the Village Hall with the stated intent of restoring the building to its full former glory as a centre of the community.
The building is used extensively by local organisations and is available for conference and weekend functions. If you wish to book the Village Hall, please contact the Town Council offices (telephone: 0151-548 4545) for further details.